top of page

Indian Head - Keene, NY

Updated: Oct 21, 2020



On this bi-weekly episode of EOFO a quick recap of a beautiful hike in Keene, NY. We'll start off by saying that this was an end of the "season" hike for my former girlfriend and I, but by the end she was/ is my fiance. Read til the end.. Hope you enjoy.


Leaving Troy, NY around 5:00am got us to the trailhead by 7:00am. Reviews will tell you that the trailhead is filled up by 7:00am and they are correct. You can see in the Komoot below that you can park on the road about 0.75mi up the road which wasn't that bad. The same entry can also be used for Lower/Upper Wolf Jaw, Sawtooth, Cathedral Armstrong, and Nipple Top. I think there were more (total of 7 high peaks from the road), but that's all that comes to mind. Most of the hike was on a dirt road that started at the Ausable Club (No idea what this place is. Never heard of it until we walked through the site) until the final ascent which took the total ascent to just under 2,000ft over 5 miles. Nothing very strenuous for the total duration and not very interesting until the end. You can see in the headline photo how beautiful the final view was. I'm sure it will be a lot prettier in the upcoming weeks. I know that recap is quick, but that's really all there is to say. Easy hike, great view!


Komoot Profile (There's still more to read below)


Now for the best part. I had been planning to propose to my girlfriend for quite some time, but between moving, finding a new job and the virus it had been a bit delayed. We were both mechanical engineering student and believe it or not we had the same classes for four whole years. She was the Women's Ice Hockey starting goalie and won a national championship and I was a nerd studying for the next test. However, the end of the senior year came around after she won the championship and I took some advice from Michael Scott. ""You miss 100% of the shots you don't take" - Wayne Gretzky" - Micael Scott. She is an amazing woman and about 3/4 of the way up the final ascent there was an extra outlook where I needed a "snack" and I took out the ring got down on a knee asked her and she said YES! Great rest of the hike, would've been a little different if she said no..


As always I recommend you take a LifeStraw just in case you get in a pinch. Water water everywhere, but not a drop to drink is not a good place to be. And don't forget this is technically an ad that I would financially benefit from if you click and even more so if you buy it.



Thanks for reading!

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page